Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
Zen Section
id729715342

Close without client contact

 


The "Close without client contact" function is accessible from the Answer menu list and allows a question to be closed without further contact with the client (such as if the question needs to be closed as the client has not responded to a Query to client, the question specifically does not require a response, or a process that results in the question being re-opened like a "thank you" from the client has arrived as an imported email). Importantly this screen is also used to close questions where the answer has been delivered outside of RefTracker (by email, or directly from an online database for example). Regular users and above can use this function.

The layout of this screen is similar to a number of other screens so the Request form fields are displayed contracted to distinguish this "Close without client contact" screen from other screens. A question summary is provided at the top of the screen, but you can expand any of the divisions to be doubly sure you are closing the right question, and to make any last minute changes like removing unseemly language, or changing the Request type.  This also means that you can also do things like adding notes, or attachments, or even the text of a response that was provided to the client outside RefTracker - just expand the request form division that you need to use. 

Hidden fields show in this screen so even they can be adjusted as you close out the question.

If this question was imported and is still missing some mandatory data, it will be marked as "incomplete" as indicated by a  construction icon  near the question number, and, a validation message will appear at the top of this screen indicating what data is missing. The question will not be able to be closed without the missing data being provided (but other screens like Answer, Query to  client, and Third party can be used to obtain the missing information before coming back to this screen to try the close again).

If the form used for the question being closed specified "Classify on receipt", and a Request type has not been selected for this request by a staff member in any previous step, the Request type field will display as [select option] and the staff member will need to select a Request type before submitting this screen. 

On initial display of this screen, the “Answered by” field in “Closed without client contact” shows the name of the staff member currently allocated that question, if there is one, otherwise the logged on staff member.  This means that if a staff member other than the allocated staff member uses this screen for a simple re-closing operation, the statistics for providing the response to that request can remain with the staff member who originally provided the response (which is important for accurate statistics).
If the staff member doing the closing has done some work to provide another response, they will usually use the Answer screen to convey that additional answer and close the question (which will automatically allocate the question to them, but if they use “Close without client contact” and feel that the work should be attributed to them they can change the “Answered by” field to their own name.  Of course, if the logged on staff member has already done some work on this question and so is the allocated staff member, their name will automatically show in the Answered by field.
If the question is unallocated when “Close without client contact” is used, the “Answered by” field will display as the logged on staff member and the closing statistic will accrue to them if they do not select another staff member.  To find who previously worked on a question, select History from the Summary menu list, then use your browser back button to go back to the “Close without client contact” screen.

If the form used for the question being closed allows Post date, the "Close without client contact" screen will show the "Date closed".  "Date closed" defaults to the current date and time, if it appears.  This means that if you regularly use this Quick close screen to close questions in RefTracker that have been answered elsewhere, it is a good idea for the your System administrator to set the Request form used for those questions so that it allows Post date (so that staff can enter the actual date and time that the response was sent).

Because you are closing the question, the closing fields appropriate to this type of request will display in the field.  Provide the Expertise, Closing comment and Category information as presented for this type of request.

Don't forget to choose an appropriate closing status, though the system will automatically insert "Closed – no response required" when the response method is "No response required".  The Closing status field and any other mandatory fields that need to be reviewed and updated, if necessary, before closing, are highlighted by a coloured bar to the immediate left of the field, in order to highlight the need to review these fields.

To further assist with quickly closing questions that don't need any further client contact, the system automatically inserts text into the Answer field (prior to any text already in that field) to indicating that the question has been closed without further client contact.  If the question has Response method "No response required", the text "NO RESPONSE REQUIRED" is inserted.  For any other response method the text inserted is "CLOSED".

When appropriate, you can remove this automatically inserted text, or you can add further text to indicate why the question is being Quick closed, such as adding something like "following receipt of a thank you from the client". Or you can use the "Reason for close without client contact" box to record more details.

Both the "Reason for close without client contact" and the Answer fields are QuickText enabled.

Closing "incomplete questions

If the question you are closing is incomplete, you will need to provided the missing mandatory information before it can be closed.  A validation message will advise the fields that still need to be completed, and those fields will be highlighted by a red cross to the right of the field. If you cannot see these highlighted missing fields, they will be located in one of the "All fields" divisions.  Expand the "All fields" divisions, by clicking the down arrow icon to the left of the division name, until you find all the highlighted fields requiring additional information.

Scroll Ignore
Zen Section
id736885549
backgroundno
margin-40px 0px 60px 0px
borderno

Page Turners

Zen Master
yes
titleyes
labelsyes
other-master-page-titleStaff Training Manual
use-other-page-as-masteryescomments
other-master-page-titleStaff Training Manual
masterown-master
breadcrumbscommentsyes
metadatayes
breadcrumbsyes